EOC Welcomes Rep. Bill Hager

The Honorable William “Bill” Hager has been appointed to join the SC EOC. Rep. Hager serves Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton, and Jasper residents in House District 122. Hager serves as the designee for Chairman of the House Education and Public Works Committee, Rep. Shannon Erickson, replacing Rep. Raye Felder.

Click here to view the full press release.

Seeking Focus Group Participants

Seeking Focus Group Participants

In order to improve the user experience on ExpectMoreSC, the EOC will be conducting a brief, virtual focus group to gain stakeholder feedback. If you are interested in participating, please provide your contact information through this form.

If you are unable to attend, feel free to leave us feedback through the “Site Feedback” button at the bottom of the page. Thank you!

Ferguson Announces Position with SC Department of Education

COLUMBIA – During a special-called Education Oversight Committee (EOC) meeting held on Monday, November 14, Executive Director Matthew Ferguson informed committee members of his intention to accept the position of Deputy Superintendent at the SC Department of Education (SCDE) under Superintendent-Elect Ellen Weaver beginning in January 2023.

Ferguson outlined specific examples of EOC work which took place under his leadership – such as obtaining information on post-secondary outcomes of SC high school graduates for the first time, publishing a dashboard showcasing the outcomes from public-funded four-year-old classrooms across the state, and supporting a focus on student growth in school accountability.

“I am incredibly grateful for the opportunity to serve as your Executive Director, and I am proud of the work of the Education Oversight Committee over the past nearly 3 years that I’ve been privileged to serve,” Ferguson stated in remarks to the committee. “It is my hope is that I have left the agency stronger than I found it, and I truly think we are well-positioned for even greater impact in the future.”

Ferguson will also be assisting in the transition of leadership at the SCDE during the month of December 2022. Dana Yow, the agency’s Deputy Director, will serve as Interim Executive Director beginning in January while a search is underway.

The SC Education Oversight Committee is an independent, non-partisan group made up of 18 educators, business persons, and elected leaders. Created in 1998, the committee is dedicated to reporting facts, measuring change, and promoting progress within South Carolina’s education system.